Christmas projects

So, as I have not been in paid employment for most of the year I have been reviewing my christmas craft box and found a range of “ends” of production on various christmas projects which I have decided to finish off for gifts this year.

I should explain, every year we make a craft project and make the same thing for a dozen or so of my friends and about 20 of my mum’s staff. We have made ribbon angels, flowerpot santas and angels, eye pillows, placemats and cotton reel elves to name a few. Cotton reel elves are one of my favourites there is something so cute about their lanky limbs, cheery santa hats (with bells) and cute smile. They are simple to make, one cotton reel, one large bead (about the same diameter as the top of the reel), a small felt santa hat (a 3/4 circle sewn up), googley eyes, beads and leather or suede thong (about 50cm per elf).

This year I have worked out a trick to make the elves stand up a little better. Cut around 20cm of thong, knot one end and then add 2 pony beads (arms). Knot the other end. Cut 30cm thong, fold in half and tie around the middle of the arms making sure you have one bead on each side (these will make the legs). Thread the thong for the legs through the hole in the cotton reel and then tie a pony bead on each side and knot. This way you won’t need to add any glue to the botton to hold the legs in place (they do have a tendency to drop off after a few years if you do). For the head, glue around the inside of the santa hat and put on the large bead. Add your eyes and draw on the mouth with a permanent pen then glue to the top and you have a rather cute little elf (see pic above).

I have been sporadic of late with posts but I will try to post my new xmas projects every couple of days until I have finished them all!

Have fun.

Katrina

Leave a Reply

